Thread: Fear of going crazy/Fear of developing Schizophrenic

Fear of going crazy/Fear of developing Schizophrenic

Lately, I've been experiencing really intense anxiety based on the fear that I could be going crazy, losing touch of reality, going schizophrenic, that there's something going on more than just anxiety and depression. I suffer from health anxiety also, where I feel like i'm constantly going to have a heart attack or die suddenly or have some sort of deathly illness causing me to have this much anxiety, however that hasn't been my major issue lately. It's the mental side of things, where I feel like I completely am losing control of my mind or developing schizophrenia (WHICH REALLY TERRIFIES ME). Can anybody give me some advice on this or is/has going through this that can help me out? I've dealt with the health anxiety for about 3 years now but this mental/fear that i'm crazy anxiety is new and it has me shaken..

Re: Fear of going crazy/Fear of developing Schizophrenic

Hi mate, the things that you are fearing are absolutely common symptons of many anxiety sufferers, let me assure you your absolutely not going crazy nor will you ever go crazy, and you will not develop schizophrenia.
    Your thoughts are bombarding you when you are at your weakest already feeling terrible from your other symptons.
    Stay positive, keep living, try not to avoid uncomfortable situations, take it day by day, it will pass but you have to be patient.
    You have nothing to worry about as far as your mental health it's just your anxiety messing with you.

Absolutely common so put it out of your mind now.

My first ever panic attack was brought about by this fear. It'll still spook me today even thoug I know it's not real. It's anxiety looking for whatever spooks you. What if this. What if that.
    Solution is to distract and forget. If you're thinking it over, you're doing wrong thing. Think of something else and never entertain the suggestion again.