Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Early, early onset of dementia or anxiety/depression??

Early, early onset of dementia or anxiety/depression??

Hi, I would really appreciate it if anyone can relate to these symptoms. Apologies for the long post!
    Since 2009 I’ve been living with chronic stress – my ex had violence and gambling issues and has only just recently sought help.
    Prior to this I completed a degree with a professional qualification, travelled, learned to fly, and had my writing and photography published. I then began another degree in 2009 just before the first of my ex’s many catastrophes.
    Every semester I found I could cope less and less with my studies. I’m a mature age student and thought perhaps I was slowing down. I lost my confidence, my vocabulary declined, I couldn’t access words. Every semester I dropped another subject and so it ended up this semester that I could only do one and even that was such a struggle. Any assessment was overwhelming, even a 200 word comment. I had to get extensions. I began studying for the final exam and was having trouble getting the info in but thought I could manage, then a couple of days before(about a week ago) I just cracked, I couldn’t access anything in my memory, couldn’t think straight, it was as if I had a brain full of dough. I went to the doctor who gave me a couple of questionnaires and apparently I have extreme depression, extreme anxiety, extreme stress. She said it well, that my brain was just ‘full’.