Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I just need to tell people they are not alone

I just need to tell people they are not alone

I am a Police Officer and you can imagine what problems persistant panic has caused for me throughout the last 7 or 8 yrs
    I eventualy plucked up courage and spoke to a good friend of mine who just happens to be the head of welfare (in fact she is the welfare dept for my force)
    She suggested CBT for me and even better convinced my bosses to pay for 10 sessions
    So far (early days) things have staerted to improve for me and I now have some very good tools to help ME MANAGE my anxiety rather than letting my anxiety MANAGE me
    The message i need to give people is that You must never be afraid to talk about your anxiety I just wish that I had done so years ago
    PS this forum must be getting some acclaim because my therapist recommended it as being one of the best possible - I agree with her wholeheartedly

I have 2yrs to go in the job then I have the great retirement to look forward too It cant come a day too soon

I am surrounded by people who keep saying arent you stopping on after doing your 30 think of the money

BUT I reply by saying No way I mow need to live for another 30 yrs of drawing my hard earned pension before this damn job kills me

I want to live for 30 more yrs minumum too and not spend them fighting this battle

Hi there

So glad to hear you are doing so well and have such understanding bosses. I tell everyone I have panic and anxiety, I used to hide it but find it helps if people know why I find things difficult. Luckily I too am doing well now, long may it last for us both and well done to you

Mandy xx

positive attitude brings positive results

What an uplifting post ,so glad you are getting the help you deserve and need!Good luck withit love mary rose.xxxxxxxxxxx

we are all in the same boat and can guide each other ashore