Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: College Presentation!!!!!!

College Presentation!!!!!!

Hi everyone, Im new to this but what a helpful website!

I just wanted to see whether anyone had experience similiar problems to me and maybe have some advice!

I have never been given a definitive diagnosis of social anxiety by my GP because the first few times I visited him (a few years ago, convinced i had a problem with my heart!) he didnt take me seriously and certainly never suggested it was anxiety/panic disorder.

Since then I have self-diagnosed by researching on the internet. I find the advice available alot better than any I was offered by a GP!

My problem at the moment is mainly to do with work meetings and my college course. I put off starting this college course for years, as I knew I would have to do presentations (which I feel completely unable to do). It has now got to the point where I have bitten the bullet and started the course but as one of my assignments, I have to spend 20 minutes training a group of 20 students on my own, whilst being assessed. To me there is nothing worse than this and I am panicking about it already (its not until Jan!) - will i blush, mix up my words, shake, forget what im talking about, make a fool of myself??!?! Probably!

Does anyone have any advice on anything i can take on a temporary basis in order to get through this? Do you experience similiar problems?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

I have a social phobia,you are not alone and you will find there are many other people like us here.You will get some helpful advise hereto.
    take care

Ellen XX

Hi Claire

I presume its just the thought of presentations that's making you freak out? I don't see how you can avoid it if it's part of the assessment. However, you could have a word with the tutor and let him/her know how you are feeling in order to gain their support.