Thread: EMDR...a positive experience

SarahH is offline Most Naughty-ish Member Ever

EMDR...a positive experience

I want to share my experience of EMDR which I hope will help anyone on NMP now and in the future.

My story can be found on the thread "Pregabalin at last". I dont know how to post a link so perhaps a moderator can do that for me

I first can across EMDR 3 years ago when my NHS psychologist suggested it may be helpful for my PTSD which developed as a serving police officer in 2001. The first "trauma" in my life was as a 17yr old when I was a front seat passenger of a car crash which killed my 3 friends and another man in another car. This was in 1982 when counselling was unheard of. Years later as a police officer I witnessed some horrific scenes which triggered emotions long buried in my mind about the car crash as a 17yr old.

Fast forward to 2010 and I am offered EMDR. So as I normally do, I started reading up about how it works. I am the kind of person who needs to know about the psychology of treatment before I start it.

I was fascinated by how the mind works in suppressing emotions and how in our dreams we "process" daily things that have happened to us,passing those sometimes distressing thoughts into the part of our brains that "normalise" these occurrences. Kind of "defragmenting" of the brain like a computer.

So in 2010 I spent about 8 weeks having a session a week dealing with the various "traumaS" I had experienced in my life starting with the car crash, moving forward through the traumas as a police officer. It worked....I mean REALLY worked!!!!