Thread: Weaning advice

Weaning advice

Ive been on Cip for 6 years - 10mg. I get an awful lot of side effects and im due a baby in 8 weeks so have decided after the baby I want to come off. Ive said this so many times and im terrified of how I will feel but the tablets dont really do anything anyway. Has anyone come off successfully and have youany advice

Re: Weaning advice

Hi bab,

I came off of Cipralex 2 years ago. I did so of my own accord, without GP guidance, but only because I was a nurse and I understood how to do so myself. Also, to be honest with you, every time I mentioned coming off meds to my GP and what he thought, he would tell me it was 'your decision, and only you know when the time is right', so I thought I may as well do it all myself, in my own very controlled way.

In my experience,there are two really important things to consider when coming off meds. One is that you are sure that the time is absolutely right for you, and that you feel that you will be able to manage without meds, and that you have enough coping mechanisms and devices in place in case your anxiety/issues should be a problem again, and secondly the WAY in which you come off them, which does mean weaning them down in a very specific way.

This is where you really need GP advice, as weaning down is very important in successfully coming off meds in as smooth a way as possible. It can be tricky to be honest. I tried a couple of times before I actually managed it, mainly because I didn't do it in the right way, or at the right time. I also had some side effects like an edgy feeling again, but these did pass and I did fine with my anxiety for 2 years (sadly I have just gone back on them recently after a very stressy time) Actually successfully weaning off medication CAN be done, and there are many people who find ways and methods of managing their anxiety without medication.

It is entirely possible to do so, and I wish the best of luck to you.x