Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: About to start Escitalopram, few questions...

About to start Escitalopram, few questions...

Hi, I'm just looking for some advice if possible.

I'm not new to anxiety (had it 8 years) but I am very new to SSRI's. I've never taken any medication before for anxiety partly because I was too young, partly because by the time I was old enough I had gone through health anxiety and so become petrified of taking meds, getting ill, side effects etc.

I'm 20 years old now and I've got a prescription for Escitalopram, I have 2 weeks worth before I will be returning to my GP to check up. She's started me with 5mg, which I'm glad as I know this is a low dose?

So I have some questions:

1. What time is best to take them? My GP said in the morning with yoghurt?

2. What sort of side effects are to be expected of this dose and how severe? (I know everyone is different but just want a general idea of what to expect so I can atleast be prepared and put a plan together to try and ease them)

3. Should you need to increase dose, how long is roughly best to wait before increasing?

4. What is the most common dose for this medication?

5. How effective has it been for you? In particular, for social anxiety/phobias etc.

If you have any other tips/advice etc that would be greatly appreciated!

"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it is about learning to dance in the rain."

Re: About to start Escitalopram, few questions...

Hi JJ,

I've been on and off Escitalopram over the past 10 years, so thought I could help with your questions/my experiences with it:

I've taken them both mornings and evenings, and I'm still not exactly sure when is best. I started off taking them mornings, but found I felt zonked out during the rest of the day, so changed to evenings. I think that doctors recommend mornings so the anxiety has a good chance to be controlled during the daytime having taken the med, but I think that timings can be quite subjective.