Thread: Waiting for ovarian cyst surgery, scared!

Waiting for ovarian cyst surgery, scared!

Hey guys! I'm a newbie to the site but I just wondered if any of you have had a similar experience and can share a bit of advice.
    I have been a long term sufferer of General Anxiety Disorder and with years of self-help and a brief spell of CBT, I've learnt to keep the panic at a manageable level!.
    I had been suffering with period like cramps for a year or so, nothing too painful but visited the doc on my boyfriend's insistence. I was referred for a scan and they found a 13cm x 10cm x 8cm simple cyst on my left ovary. Needless to say my consultant recommended surgery and I was booked in very quickly and am due to have a laparoscopy on the 16th Nov.
    I had no previous worries, having taken the pain in my stride but since diagnosis I have had constant anxiety, really bad bloating, trapped wind :( and worse pain. I am both terrified of the surgery (being put to sleep my worst fear! ) and scared stiff that my new symptoms mean it might burst or something terrible. The panic attacks I had learnt to control are now plaguing me at night, keeping me awake and the wind and pain are just making it worse and worse. If any of you guys, experienced something similar, I'd love some positive feedback. Thanks.

Re: Waiting for ovarian cyst surgery, scared!

I've had a few ops and whilst I can't say as I've ever skipped into the room declaring 'come on guys, knock me out, take your best shot' I have managed to lay down and let the professionals do their job ... albeit tinged with nerves etc.

Bloating - anxiety can cause bloating, wind, farting, nausea/sickness, dry mouth, back ache, belly ache, headache and so on and so on. It sounds like you're winding yourself up into a stew to be honest (understandable, no judgement here) and perhaps you just need to have a chat with your doctor for reassurance?