Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anxiety after buying a house

Anxiety after buying a house

Hello all. Newbie here. Wanted to see if anyone has experienced what's been happening to me over the last few months

I bought my first flat in October. Was excited leading up to it, though a bit nervous at the same time. The day after I moved in I found a few problems with the place which triggered what Ive been told by the doctor is basically episodes of severe anxiety.

It started with worries about the plumbing. Then woodworm. Then dry rot. Then I worried about the place getting cold because of rubbish windows. You name it, any kind of home related problem, I have likely worried about it at some point.

I was on Mirtazipine (for depression) up until April last year. I had been on it for 7 years and came off it because I felt like I didn't need it anymore. Because the worrying got so bad and because I can't take sick leave at the moment I went to the doctor to see what I could do. Was given beta blockers at first, which didn't do much. Then they tried fluoxetine and citalopram (separately), both of which made the anxiety ten times worse in the first few weeks and I didn't feel like I could risk keeping on with them. I was also given sleeping pills (zopiclone and tamazepam, again separately) because I wasn't sleeping, at one point I didn't sleep for 4 or 5 nights in a row. The sleeping pills didnt work so I decided to ask the doctor to put me back on Mirtazipine as I knew that atleast that would put me to sleep.