Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: P/A about having my hair cut

P/A about having my hair cut

Hi y'all. I have waist length VERY thick and heavy hair. I feel like I have been hiding behind it for the last 6 years or so. One time I had my hair cut and I had a panic attack over it. I don't tend to get P/A's much anymore, but when I do they scare the pididille out of me. The problem now is that my hair is so heavy that it is hurting my neck. And it is affecting my balance too. I wear it wrapped up in a bun and if that slides down my head I feel "off" and I hate that. So I realy want to get my hair cut. So now I have to face several things. Letting someone close enough to me to cut it, letting someone touch me, letting someone spray me with water etc. etc etc. The list could go on for quite a while. I realy feel like this is a huge step for me towards becoming the Debbie I want to be rather than who I am right now. So I gotta figure out how to do this. Any suggestions would be very much appreceated. Anyone else scared of getting their hair cut? Is there a name for this?
    God bless you and yours
    Debbie

I can relate to that as I've experienced similar feelings. My guess is it has to do with handing over control to somebody else and trust them. Whether there's a specific name for it I don't know. It really helps if the hairdresser is somebody you feel okay with and not one of those bossy types. Maybe you could accompany some of your friends to their hairdresser and check them out before making an appointment?

One thing you could try is asking the hairdresser to use the products you're using at home (bring along shampoo and conditioner - a good hairdresser will respect your wishes) so that not everything feels/smells unfamiliar. Or wash your hair at home and tell the hairdresser that you just want the ends trimmed. If you feel okay with that you can come back later and have the rest done.

Debbie,