Thread: I'm scared i'm going to have a heart attack

Unhappy I'm scared i'm going to have a heart attack

Hey all, i'm a 20 year old male and for the past month or so i've been so worried that i'm going to have a heart attack :( it's stopping me from being my normal self and i hate it! For the past 2 days i've had bad dizziness and keep breaking out in cold sweats, my GP and even nurses from the NHS 24 have told me it's just my anxiety but i can't bring myself to think they're telling me the truth, everytime i get a new symptom i phone the NHS 24 because i'm worried it may be heart related, i've been smoking for 3 years but the nurse still said it's not a cardiac problem, i can't get to sleep at night and when i do i wake up covered in sweat or i just wake up every hour, sometimes i'm even scared to go to sleep incase something happens when i'm sleeping :( i'm desperate for help! Any advice will be greatly appreciated, thanks guys!

Re: I'm scared i'm going to have a heart attack

Hi, I had a major obsession about my heart when I first got anxiety. Most of my pains were in my chest and I felt dizzy and breathless all the time. What helped me most was reading Claire Weekes, Self Help for your Nerves (Amazon) . She reassured me about my heart in a way no doctors had. She was a doctor too, and described the heart as a big thick strong muscle - very tough! I was like you, I wouldn't accept what the doctors told me. It was ruining my life. I was scared to move! This was in 2006. (see my old posts). I finally lost my heart obsession completely by mountain biking. It was so scary at first, I was sure I would keel over, but I didn't. I proved to myself I was safe. It is scary, but you can get over this. X

---------- Post added at 09:02 ---------- Previous post was at 08:59 ----------

For sleep, try a glass of milk and a relaxation CD? It sounds like rubbish advice, but it really helped me.