Thread: 01.47

Wow. third night in a row. That should be the start of a different story. Me, telling you about some amazing feats of lovemaking, or a bold story about a stag do in someday flung par of the world. Instead it's the start of a totally different story. It's about insecurity, doubt, mental health and worry.

I'm scared. Really scared. I never used to be a scared person. I'm 6'6" and 20 stone, not much of it fat. I'm educated, own real estate, have a pension, a dog, an amazing girlfriend, and a promising future with a great career ahead of me. I'm 32 years Young, and here I am at 01.47 on a Sunday night, writing to occupy myself enough that I might just stop the fear of dying as a result of a catastrophic stroke. I haven't slept for more than 2 hours for three nights I a row.

I think it's important I tell you more about how this started. I used to be a weapon of a man. I was a professional athlete. A rugby player. In 2010, I had to stop playing at a good level. This was hard to take. In my prime, I stopped asserting myself on other people physically. I felt lost, a bit depressed, but, ironically optimistic that I could be a good businessman - a future laced with optimism.

I filled the gap for two years playing for a team I also coached. I did well as a coach, but got sacked. I haven't done anything with rugby of any note since. This was in 2012.

Part of big an elite athlete, or at least one good enough to receive money to play, meant toil in the gym, on the training pitch, eating well and generally being clean and focused. I was a lazy trainer. Guys I played with loved doing extras, and were lifestylers. Me, I did enough to be good at the game. When I stopped, I decided to kick back at the discipline of being a pro, and embarked on a 36 month binge of partying, eating what I wanted. The lean, hard muscle turned to flab.