Thread: New to coping with anxiety

New to coping with anxiety

Hi,

I would just like to say what a relief to have found this site :-).

I'm pretty new to suffering from anxiety and didn't even really recognise what was wrong until I joined this site yesterday. I lost my partner 6 years ago, he died suddenly and I didn't get a chance to say goodbye, my children were very young and for a good year after his death I had symptoms that I presumed were just my bodies way of dealing with the grief and fear of losing him. Since his death it has took me a long time to get back to any sort of normality. I avoided anything that reminded me of him, I no longer enjoyed cooking ( I cooked for him a lot and loved cooking), couldn't focus and my memory became terrible. I suppose I feel like a part of me died when he did and that so much of who I was had disappeared. I had huge mountains to climb around that time and look back wondering how the hell I got through the other side.