Thread: CT scans-A lifetime of worries

CT scans-A lifetime of worries

Hello,

I am new to this thread, but having a HA flare-up, and need to get it all off my chest.

I'm smart, but not rational when it comes to health, and the "ifs" will eventually kill me!

I teach English abroad, and currently do so in Singapore. I am from the states, but having my health scare here has been...interesting.

In September/October/November I started losing weight, and found a lump in my right breast. I went to a breast surgeon, had an ultrasound and an MRI, and while they could feel the lump (which is still there) all was normal on the scans. I found a lump in my neck the next week, and went to a doctor who sent me to an ENT who did a scope of my neck, and referred me to a GNT for the weight loss. The gastro booked me for a CT scan 4 weeks later. I subsequently had a panic attack (was admitted to the ER for back pain) and the docs there did a full body CT. I have no clue why that was necessary. Nothing was found, and they released me. I saw my doctor again, to see if the scan was necessary. He said it was because the ER scan was done at a different phase, and did not show the gastro tissue. So in I went for another full body scan, of which showed swollen nodes, but luckily no lymphoma as is what they were looking for.

Fast forward to now, nearly 6 mos later, and I have barely thought about it. Until I read an article on CT and radiation. I knew there was a risk, I just didn't know how big the risk was. Now I'm in a panic as I've been exposed, unnecessarily so. What are the risks really? I'm seeing all sorts of data and literature on children and older folks, but nothing in my age group. I had these scans within 4 weeks of each other, and I know there is nothing to do about it now, but what are the chances of me really developing something in the future? Is there anyone with a similar experience to mine?