Thread: Mirtazapine vs Seroquel

Mirtazapine vs Seroquel

Hello everyone - I'm new here and am very glad to have found this forum!

I was prescribed 30mg Mirtazapine last month for panic disorder, but I haven't taken it yet due to fears of having the same experience I had with Seroquel. For those that have tried both, is the sedating effect the same or does it feel different? I understand that Seroquel is an anti-psychotic and Mirt is not, but I've had no other experiences with medications that have an extreme sedating effect.

With Seroquel, I felt like my blood pressure went very low. I'd wake up just fine, but I couldn't stand up - I could barely move my legs and would have to roll out of bed and crawl to the bathroom. I don't want to go through that again.

Also, I've read that 30mg of Mirt may be too high of a starting dose. My psychiatrist gave me the option of starting at 15 if I wanted to, but I need the therapeutic benefit of the 30mg. Can anyone describe their experience of starting at this dose instead of the 15?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Re: Mirtazapine vs Seroquel

Hi
    I'm on Mirt,and another antipsychotic,Olanzapine, which I take in a small dose (5ml) at bedtime,for anxiety.
    I was on 30ml of Mirt,but have taken it down to 15 about 3 weeks ago,and don't find this dose over sedating at all,I found the 30 made me feel over drugged up,and actually, I haven't found Mirt to be very good,in my experience, with anxiety, hence the Olanzapine.
    I know this hasn't really answered your question,but hope it can be of some help.
    I think it would be a better idea to try the Mirt at 15 first,because you may find,like myself,that you don't need the higher dose,or at least,you have the experience of it.
    Good luck

Hi Kardian,

I agree with Aprilmoon that it's fine to start off at a lower dose. You can easily decide to increase the dose if you want.