Thread: I'm new to this and very scared

I'm new to this and very scared

Hi all. My name is Gareth and I had my first real issues with panic attacks on Sunday.

I'd just nearly finished a night shift on Sunday morning when I was in a car with my colleague and all of a sudden thought I couldn't move my left arm. When I went to lift it up I got a rush of adrenalin over my body and my heart was pounding. Now this has happened once before, around 2 months ago, at the time I was under the weather with a cold and I thought I was having an anaphylactic shock! Had to get my wife to phone and ambulance and when they came out all they found was my blood sugars were a bit low. After that I thought nothing of it.

On Sunday though by the time I got home they panic attacks were getting worse, to the point I just could not calm myself down, I honestly thought I was dying and I had to get an ambulance again. This time they took my bloods and my blood sugars were a bit low? He advised I see the doctor for a diabetes check. At the time he also did an ECG, he said one of the readings was slightly high so they took me in. All that happened when I was in the hospital though was they did another ECG and took me to the waiting room. Eventually I got taken to a side room were a doctor came to see me and pretty much confirmed it was panic attacks. The problem I had was form 8am to 9pm they were constant! I'd got myself so worked up I was convinced I had a problem with my heart and the more I thought about it the more the attacks came on, therefore keeping me in this endless loop. I'd not slept properly up to this point for nearly 24 hours and I was exhausted. I thought if I could get to sleep it would all be over in the morning.