Thread: Applying for jobs and job interviews?

Applying for jobs and job interviews?

I'm currently in the place where I'm trying to find full-time work or else go back to school and get a different degree.

I've been job-hunting but always over-analyze before I apply for anything because I'm paranoid I won't be qualified or able to do the job properly.

I applied for a job as sort of an organizer for seniors, helping them find services that allow them to remain in their homes. The qualifications for the job listed were a high school diploma (I have a college degree) and some experience coordinating events (I have a bit, not a lot).

I had the phone interview for the job today and went into it nervous, but not terribly so. The guy was really nice, but he was asking me if I had all this experience with various aspects of the job (helping people set goals, working with the elderly, finding low-income housing, etc.). Most things I only had slight or theoretical (through classes) experience with and I started to panic because every answer I had to give was "no, I don't have much experience there". It's so discouraging considering there wasn't even a college degree requirement for the job!

He's passing my resume on to the actual department I applied to and they may contact me in the next week. I don't have high hopes, but even if they do, I'm scared to do an in-person interview and have to stammer out answers right in front of them.

So, I'm just sitting here feeling like a failure and like I'm not qualified to do anything though I know that's obviously not true. But I may end up having to go back to school anyway for lack of anything better. There are people my age (I'm 23) who already have their careers mapped out, and I still have absolutely no idea what direction I'm going in.
    Sometimes I fly like an eagle, sometimes I'm deep in despair.

Re: Applying for jobs and job interviews?