Thread: Anxiety Has Returned :(

Unhappy Anxiety Has Returned :(

Well, I was a frequent visitor to this site years ago but thanks to the help of the conversations I had with many of you as well as understanding what's going on in my body during a panic attack, I haven't had an attack in quite some time.

Until yesterday...

I was driving back to work from lunch and all of a sudden my heart starting beating out of my chest and I felt the rush of blood go to my head and everything imagineable associated with panic. I was so freaked out that I called 911 (something I've never done before) and pulled into a parking lot. The paramedics checked me out and I said I was okay and started to head back to work again. Everything started again! Heart racing, dizzyness, feeling of being trapped/losing control. My poor wife, I kept calling her saying "it's happening again, I'm scared!".

Checked myself into the hospital, they ran the EKG which came back fine, blood pressure was fine, and ran a blood test. As the doctor was explaining to me that things were checking out fine I started getting panic again. You know the common, "Well if everything is fine and I'm still feeling horrible then I'm screwed! I can't deal with this all over again". And that's what scares me, I battled so hard years ago to overcome this and here I am back at square one.

I woke up this morning feeling fine. I did feel anxious a bit while driving, but got to work okay. Now I'm sitting here scared that this is all going to wreck me for quite some time again. The worst part is I'm starting a new job next week that requires me to drive all over the place and meet with clients quite a bit. I was so excited when I got the promotion and now I'm terrified that my anxiety is going to hinder my job performance and I'm going to blow this opportunity.