Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: new to pregabalin

new to pregabalin

Hi, newbie here.
    Im starting pregabalin today, having severe anxiety and waking up at 4am every morning with night terrors. Currently tapering off diazepam as well, at 3mgs but struggling. Im also on an AD called agomelatine for the last 7 weeks but hasnt helped so im about to give up on that.

Any advice gratefully received. Hope you're well

Re: new to pregabalin

Hiya,

I've found pregabalin really easy to get on with. I can honestly say I've had no problems with it and went up to the full 600mg. I suffer from very bad GAD - waking up early with horrific anxiety.

It's helped me to withdraw from Mirtazapine too.

The only thing worth noting is that it has quite a short half life so the time you take it may affect you. I know Hanshan takes 600mg at night. I'm pondering moving my dose to the night too.

Good luck friend.

SarahH is offline Most Naughty-ish Member Ever

Agomelatine will help with your sleep so I would give that a chance, a couple of months at least. Pregabalin will help you withdraw from Diazepam. Just take it slowly. Things will not change overnight.

What dose of pregabalin are you on at the moment?

Sarah

Thanks for your replies :-)

They have started me on the lowest dose, 50mg 3times per day. I'll be increasing it based on how I get on. Im desperate for 1. An improvement in my terrible anxiety 2. Help tapering my diazepam down and 3. A better nights sleep.

Agomelatine has helped zonked me out at bedtime, but I still wake in the night 4am like clockwork exhausted and terrified. My psych says 'if the Agomelatine was going to work for you I would have expected to see some signs by now' but im open minded about staying on for a few more weeks. I just worry about multi meds at the same time.