Thread: scared to take antibiotics

Exclamation scared to take antibiotics

hi am i the only one who is scared to take antibiotics, i need to take them as i have a minor chest infection, i took my first one about half an hour ago, im sat here really scared of getting some sort of reaction im allergic to penecillin and septrin i know the ones im taking have not got any penecillin in why am i so worried also does anyone else get short of breath from a chest infection or am i the only one, ive asked some freinds of mine and they said they dont get short of breath with an infection, im a total wreck at the mo

Re: scared to take antibiotics

I have wrote many a thread about my fear of antibiotics and like you I am allergic to penicillin. I usually have one beginning with m (can't remember the name of them) and although I worry about taking them, am always fine when I do.
    I'm no expert but the last time I had a chest infection I felt breathless but also put some of my breathing difficulties down to the fact I was so anxious about the antibiotics, Hope you are feeling better soon x

thanks for your reply, the gp usually gives me erythromycin but this time he gave me clarithromycin he said there from the same family as erythromycin but as ive never took them before i worry about side effects x

I have had those before ( for a sinus infection ) and was fine with them. My main worry with antibiotics is allergic reaction but after having a reaction to pencillin in the past, I suppose it is natural to be a bit concerned but I'm sure you will be ok and will feel much better once you have finished the course. x

thanks i hope so x

I had them last week for a chest infection and was fine on them apart from diarrhea !!

“Don't be afraid of death; be afraid of an unlived life. You don't have to live forever, you just have to live.” - Natalie Babbitt

Please help keep NMP running and donate to the running costs: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/donate