Thread: Feel Like a Failure

Feel Like a Failure

I am a teacher and today my head teacher came to me to say a parent has asked why the homework I gave out is different to the work they are doing in class. I explained that it is something that they have done in the past but they need extra revision at - concepts need continuously reinforced (I teach maths). So it was a minor query but has left me so upset at myself thinking I can't do this job, why can't i do anything right. These pupils deserve better than me.

I am going through a rough patch at the moment and struggling every day. Work has been a distraction mainly but I'm starting to find that even the smallest thing going wrong is sending me into a downward spiral. I've never taken more than a day off but I'm not sure how much longer I can deal with the pressure (even if it is all in my head).

Re: Feel Like a Failure

Awwwwww Wabbit am so sorry that you are struggling. Try and hang on in there and hopefully when you see psych soon they will be able to offer you some more help. Think we all get more sensitive when we are struggling.

sending you some
    Sorry I cant offer any more help.

It sounds to me like you know what youre doing. Have belief in yourself and your ability and do what you believe is right.

Its understandable why a parent may question school stuff. Theyre on the outside looking in and are bound to question stuff occasionally. It goes with the territory. But youve just proved that it was a well thought out decision.

Show you belong in that job by showing your ability to have thick skin to it.
    Imagine a young inexperienced teacher buckling in this situation and imagine what advice you`d give them.

All of this stuff will make you a very competent, experienced teacher in the future.