Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it time for medication? Will I be a zombie?

Is it time for medication? Will I be a zombie?

So I've been battling this anxiety and mild depression for a few years. GP has been thoroughly unhelpful, the first one didn't even look at me, she just wrote a prescription for Citalopram and I threw it in the bin. In 2013 my new GP referred me for CBT because I was adamant that I wanted to try mind rather than medication. So over a year later I finally had contact from my local MH trust and they offered CBT online. It was rubbish, like a chat room from the 90s. I rang them and told them it wasn't fit for purpose. They put me to the back of the queue and I fought that and got my place back in the list for CBT. Thankfully, Mind were amazing and I saw a great counsellor for a year, only once or twice a month and I completed 'Beating the blues' which I found pretty unhelpful but I felt that I'd made progress.
    I've had physical health issues recently, and my anxiety has returned big time I'm also peri-menopausal which frequently causes anxiety too.

Should I just give in and try medication? I'm terrified because I have a toddler at home with me and my husband works full time, I'm frightened that it might knock me out or make me lose my faculties (I know, I'm an idiot) but I like being in control, I don't even like to drink so it scares me silly.

I just don't think that I can cope with this constant crushing anxiety for much longer. I have no life, my agoraphobia is horrendous.

Anyone?

Re: Is it time for medication? Will I be a zombie?

im not a fan of using medication but if you feel like you really need a break then i would say to go on a course or propranalol for 6 months or so.

if you do a low dosage of 20mg a day you are not going to turn into a zombie and you wont feel any side effects.

it is an old drug that is well proven and there are no real health risks. much safer than most other products on the market.