Thread: Swollen lymph node near breast underarm

Swollen lymph node near breast underarm

Hi all,

this is my first time posting here but I have suffered from health anxiety and hypochondria my whole life. I have also been secretly stalking this forum for the past few weeks and it makes me feel so much better to read other people have the same worries as i do. I don't even care if anyone replies to this I just need to tell someone my worries!

a couple of months ago i was lying on my side and my boyfriend felt a lump on my ribcage, like 2 inches from my breast below underarm. when i am lying or standing normally the lump (which according to radiologist is a lymph node) hides in my breast fat. i have no idea how long this has been here as i normally do breast exams lying down on my back and the lymph node is so soft it blends in with my fat.

i went to a breast radiologist a week after finding it and he said it was a 1.8 cm lymph node that looked benign. he said to just check on it once a month to see if it grows, otherwise come back in 6 mos.

I honestly can't take it anymore, as you can understand, so I am going to ask my gynecologist to refer me to a surgeon when I see her on friday. I just want a biopsy as it is hard for me to believe a healthy lymph node can be swollen for this long.

This has caused so much stress in my life, and I have in my mind already decided that this is cancer. I can't even look forward to things that I would normally look forward to because I doubt that I will live long enough to enjoy anything. I brush my hair in the morning and admire it, thinking it will all be gone soon from chemo. I know this is stupid of me and I am jumping to conclusions but my mind can't help it. this is the first time I have had physical proof of a possible disease. I've had many imaginary diseases throughout my life (thought I had stomach cancer age 10, brain tumor age 11, heart disease age 13, list goes on).