Thread: Haven't left my house in months..

Haven't left my house in months..

Hi there!

I've just registered to this forum and wanted to get some advice.
    Like most people on here, I've had anxiety for a long time, but it's only started to get worst in the past year.

I'm a University student and had already skipped 1 year out because I was too afraid to start. Finally in September 2013 I enrolled and had enjoyed my first year.. second year has rolled around and I'm beyond failing now.

I used to have a part time job (I'd always worked ever since I was 15!). In the middle of 2014 I had a panic attack that I knew would stick in my memory for years. It damaged everything I worked towards and sent my straight back to square one. I quit my job. I was with a therapist who I also quit on in 2014 because of the same reason. I couldn't leave my house to see him and couldn't concentrate if I managed to get into his room.

I was forever going back to the doctors to get answers. I've been on Mirtazapine (as the doctor thought depression might've been the answer).. and now I'm on Propranolol (which I don't feel is making any difference).

But recently, since about October, I've become a recluse. Completely and utterly depending on my partner whenever I need to go outside. Even popping to the shops to get some milk has become somewhat of a challenge. University allowed me to work from home as I couldn't stay for more than 10 minutes without losing control of my anxiety. I'm living in a nightmare which I naively thought medication would help get me out of.