Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Am I showing psychotic symptoms? Fear of schizophrenia! HELP?!

Exclamation Am I showing psychotic symptoms? Fear of schizophrenia! HELP?!

I am a student and I think exam period has triggered this (possibly), I just want to live a normal life but I really feel as though I am going mad and losing touch with reality.

I have been diagnosed with anxiety before but I have not seen a psychologist for a few years as the mental health services aren't very good in the UK once you are over 18 (I used to be with CAMHS).

I am reading forums about bizarre thoughts and anxiety but I feel as though nobody has thoughts as bizarre as this and I feel like this is a sign of onset schizophrenia. I basically have a holiday coming up too and I am scared of my mental health ruining it or going mad in a foreign country!

I am aware of the symptoms of schizophrenia and the main symptoms I am worried that I have is the delusions (losing touch) and I was scared I was hearing voices.

I had very weird thoughts and they started off like this; what if nothing is real? What if everything around me is imaginary and I am stuck in a dream/coma? Then they get weirder I think what if when I die I will wake up and what if my parents and loved ones want me to "wake up". I am PETRIFIED of believing that thought and giving into it that means I will hurt my parents, they lost a daughter already (my sister) I JUST want to focus on my future and make my loved ones happy not to become psychotic or delusional.