Thread: worried about ALS

worried about ALS

Hi everyone, I am newbie here. Need your urgent support and advice. Here goes my problem,

I am 35, happily married with kids. Working in a corporate company. Have a very stressful Job and past couple of months have been very stressful.

I have always been a type A personality. I mostly think about negatives things and anything hardly gets out of my mind. Last year in Oct 2014, my right index finger started twitching. I blamed my over use of tablet and ignored it. this was not the first time I felt twitching as I had occasional twitching in legs and eyelids but really never thought about it. for some reason, I consulted internet and came up with ALS. ever since, I am living with this fear daily. Consulted a Neuro who said it's anxiety and did a routine physical examination. I tried to reassure but nothing. Did an EMG of upper limbs. It turned out to be Clean.

In Dec, I felt a pain in left shoulder that was radiating down to bicep and arm. I was again panicked and consulted anothere doctor. He was of the opinion that it might be due to my posture and long hours of working in front of computer Or simply stress that has stiffened my neck muscles. I do feel pain in shoulders and neck specially after waking up and during the day.

Now, I don't know what to do. Since morning, again feeling pain in left deltoid, funny feeling in arm and hand.. specially Thumb. out of my fear, I lifted dumbbells just to check my hand strength which is I think pretty normal but I just can't seem to get this fear out of me. I think about it and move my fingers that eventually hurt but it's a vicious circle.

I hope you guys can give me some tips how to deal with it. Thanks

Re: worried about ALS

Quote Originally Posted by Amir79 View Post
    I am 35, happily married with kids. Have a very stressful Job and past couple of months have been very stressful.