Thread: Becoming agoraphobic at 32??!

Becoming agoraphobic at 32??!

Hi all, this is my first thread on here so apologies if I ramble a bit.

I'll try and get straight to the point. I've always suffered depression/social anxiety/heightened anxiety throughout my life, but after having a nervous breakdown four years back, panic attacks became more frequent.

Now, whenever I had a panic attack up to a period about 1.5 months back, I've kind of just got on with my life as normal, gone out as usual, not thought about them. If they happened (and they often did) I'd just get over them best I could and cope with it, glad that I'd got through them, I wouldn't obsess over when they'd happen again.

But on a Friday in early December last year, I suffered a 'chain' of them over a period of days and it knocked me for six. I went to do my shopping (only 2 items!) in a supermarket that I've been using for over 20 years and the moment I went through the turnstile I got 'the fear' and had to rush straight back out, and had to sit on a bench outside for half an hour until I got my breathing/swallowing/sweating/heartbeat in check. I tried to compose myself enough, but I simply couldn't go back in, and went home empty handed.