Thread: I got a job offer....and cue anxiety!

I got a job offer....and cue anxiety!

I have a tendency to get wordy, but I'll keep this short and sweet. Input and advice is welcome!

I'm currently studying business, and trying to decide what field of business I want to go into. I've been looking for a part time job to make some money, but I've been picky in that I want it to be something business-related so I can gain some real experience.

I've put in applications all semester, have had a few interviews and some people that never called me back. Last week alone I put in a lot of applications.

Yesterday I went in for an interview and today they called and asked me if I wanted the job (the call went to voicemail so I have a couple of days to decide). The position is one in which I would be helping to plan/execute conferences and events, like freshman orientation at the college. It sounds like a lot of fun, and the people are very nice.

My hangup is that I don't really want to go into event planning. It sounds like an interesting career, but I feel as though I'd have to live somewhere more densely populated to find a job - and I'd like to live in as small of a town as possible. I suppose those skills could transfer - there are a lot of management aspects, office skills, working with people, etc. but I'm nervous.

I'm also afraid that one of the other jobs I put in for will call me back (there's a HR assistant position that I really want) and I'll want to accept it but will feel locked in to this first position.

I really could use some money but I just want to make a smart choice as I need something to build a future career off of, and I want more insight into what I really want to do (as of now I'm not 100% sure).

I honestly thought I'd be elated when I got a job, but I guess being me I should have expected a healthy dose of anxiety as well.
    Sometimes I fly like an eagle, sometimes I'm deep in despair.

Re: I got a job offer....and cue anxiety!