Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: loss of identity / post-DR / bpd / identity crisis

loss of identity / post-DR / bpd / identity crisis

Well. I don't even know how to start.
    I am diagnosed with high-functioning borderline personality disorder (sucks right). I was a very successful student and did my BA with 1,5. I am currently majoring in MA cultural analysis.
    Since last fall I suffer on and off with DR and some kind of burnout. Now it is mostly gone and left me with existential anxiety, obsessive thoughts and just a mess, I am not even able to continue studying, especially not as I am sutdying mostly phliosophical theory!! I try but I break down regularly. It's like being totally traumatised by the DR. And - I try to find my way back into life but it just doesn't seem possible anymore. Like Neo in Matrix only that I decided to just go back but now the rabbit burrow (did they call it like that in the film?) doesn't really feel the same. It's like an old shoe that doesn't fit. And I look around in my room and I feel like all of this doesn't really belong to me anymore. Like I look at my bookcase and feel like who is this person that did all this (I know that it's me it just feels strange and exhausting), when the hell did I do all this (of course I know when it just feels so exhausting just thinking about it).
    I have to admit that I didn't really like studying for a while now but I was always just so good at it and now I feel like everything is different since the DR came and went and I am just a mess. I am suffering from anxiety attacks und fear and I just feel so ****ing isolated. Like, I don't know who I am anymore, just exhausted and overwhelmed by life. I just feel like something is not right with me, contantly on the edge of panic, feeling like I'm ****ing losing my mind (yep, I can totally relate to all the posts about DR and the fear of going insane, schizophreniac and so on).