Thread: Dropping the act in counseling

Dropping the act in counseling

Hi everyone

I've been attending weekly counseling for about 5 months now and I've been learning lots about myself and getting lots out of it.

However one thing I am really struggling with is dropping the "act" I take on in similar situations. Basically in situations where I feel vulnerable, am talking about feelings or connecting with emotions, a guard comes up. I become formal, I sit upright, I basically act as if I'm in a job interview!

My counselor has likened my response to someone reading a story about someone else. There's just no emotional connection there.

We are working on me dropping this act so I can speak more freely and engage with my emotions. But it feels totally impossible.

Has anyone had a similar experience?

Re: Dropping the act in counseling

I can't say that I have this problem although certain more personal elements I find harder but still get them out if needed.

Maybe a way around this is to write down things at home when you feel you can be open about this and take it to your sessions? Then you have something to refer to that might help you or at least you can hand it to the counsellor. In CBT I would expect something to be set as "homework" to bring to the next session.

I have this problem. It is basically a self-protective technique or defense mechanism. I have been to a few therapists over the past 5-6 years and with one of them, I never got this self-protective part to back off and let me be vulnerable. I know part of me did not want to let myself be vulnerable or exposed in any way even though another part of me knew it was safe. With my second therapist, it took over a year for it to back down. Now I am seeing somebody else because the hour drive was too much, and I still feel it sometimes and sometimes I can be more vulnerable (but not all the way ...)