Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: i shouldnt be like this

i shouldnt be like this

Hi im new to this so dont really know what to do. anyway here goes...
    im 28 and have been married to my wife for a year
    the problem is im becoming very abusive towards her not physically but i shout and swear a lot and take things out on her
    its getting to the stage where she says she cant take any more and she will leave
    i went to my gp to be refered for councelling and i am awaiting this and in the meantime he has prescribed me a 10mg dose of citalopram
    can anyone help me please?????

mike

Hi Mike

Welcome to the forum!

I can understand this cos I was the same.

Here is a quote from My Story (www.nomorepanic.co.uk/mystory.htm) ...

Irritable/Moody - oh yes and with a vengeance at times!! I must have been impossible to live with!! I sometimes got very childish as well and would throw tantrums and objects!!

I lost a partner over it cos he couldn't put up with it anymore :(

I think mine was a lot of frustrtaion and depression and that subsided with medication (Prozac).

I was frustrated with my life and he didn't seem to be able to help so I took it out on him.

It will get easier with time but try not to push her away like I did my partner [:O]

Nicola

i know what i have to do
    i have to recognise what triggers of the aggression and just walk away but im finding it really hard

mike

Mike

Sometimes when I felt so bad I just went out for a drive to calm down and get away.

I was very confrontational and that was not good for me either!

Nicola

Hi Mike

Welcome to the site.

sorry you are having a problem controlling your anger, it must be so hard for you, but Nic has been through the same thing and hopefully by reading her post you will gain some help and comfort.

I am the opposite my biggest fear is aggression so darent lose my temper incase i lose it all together. So that doesnt help me having a daughter of 9 who seems to pick up on it.