Thread: Anyone else study with The Open Uni?

Anyone else study with The Open Uni?

Just wondering if anyone is studying with them? I was studying at college 3 years ago when my panic attacks started out the blue and I quit due to them. I was studying biomedical sciences and didn't want to give up my education completely so I've been studying with OU ever since. I am currently studying BSc (hons) Biology. Its hard work, especially since you do most of the work on your own.

I've been with OU since 2013 and I've never been well enough (anxiety/panic wise) to attend the monthly day classes held at my local uni but I am determined to go this year.

Just wondering if anyone else studies with this uni or has done in the past or plans to in the future

"Save your sympathy for someone else. I don't need it or want it. What you call a panic attack is merely a few normal chemicals that are temporarily out of place in my brain. It is of no significance whatsoever to me!"

"Recovery always lies ahead - however painful the moment"

"Recovery lies in the places and experiences you avoid"

Dr Claire Weekes.

Re: Anyone else study with The Open Uni?

I studied with OU but it was about 15 years ago.

Yeh i did a social science course with the OU,

I never went to any classes either. I seem to recall there being forums and some weird chat software for the students to communicate on ?
    It was a while ago now but if they still do that it might be a good stepping stone between where you are and attending a real class with them.

I spoke to my tutor on the phone a few times thats about it.

Yeh its hard doing it alone. Id procrastinate all month then cram for my essay in the final week
    Passed though. Really interesting course.

I would love to, but too expensive for me :(