Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Phobia

Phobia

Hi all

I'm totally new to this. Well I've suffered with panic attacks since childhood, but i only get them in social gatherings.. when i have to speak in a group setting. I'm ok with family & friends but if it's work or strangers i have a full panic attack and can't even get any words out as i'm so out of breath. I have to attend weekly meetings at work and it's becoming unbearable. I'm trying to find ways of avoiding going to the meetings. I hate people looking and listening to me. Is it people i have a fear of? Just wish there was some way out.

KW

hi

all you have to do is dont look at the people, look at a wall and focus on a spot, also try and think nice things.

HanzaGanza

hello there KW,

There are lots of people who feel comfortable with small groups of people but who don't deal very well with large groups of people, especailly when you don't know them very well. No going to the meetings will help you in the short term but it won't do you any good in the long run. It would be better to keep going to the meetings but try to figure out a way of making yourself feel more comfortable there. Have you tried using any calming essential oils or maybe natural remedies?

Sarah

Hi KW

Welcome to the site. I also get panic attacks when in social situations and when I have to talk to people unless I know them very well. It sounds like you are doing well with your job and going to the meetings although it is difficult.

I am sure you will find this site helpful.

Briary

Hi KW,
    Welcome to the site! Lots of us find social situations very difficult, especially as you say in large groups and when you feel you're the centre of attention. I've found it quite difficult since I was a child. These work meetings do sound quite tricky, you're not alone there!