Thread: withdrawel symptoms of effexor/venlaflaxine

withdrawel symptoms of effexor/venlaflaxine

Hi
    Ive been taking venlaflaxine for 12 months for ocd/anxiety along with bupropion for motivation. I have been tapering off venlaflaxine for 6 months no problem but am now down to the last 37.5 mg. I stopped taking it 3 days ago and have felt overwhelming dizzy and weird and have rushes all over. I feel a bit sick as well. Has anyone else experienced this and if so how long does it last
    thanks

Re: withdrawel symptoms of effexor/venlaflaxine

Normal, no worries. Have you been cutting down the bupropion at the same time? ... Made me feel as though i'd been shot out of a cannon, that did! Then again, I could have been taking too much ...

As to how long you will be off before the withdrawal symptoms last, that varies. Not the drug to be taking if one plans to drop it in future. If things get to be too much, you can try going on a slower-acting drug like Prozac for a bit, then withdrawing from that. Supposed to be much easier, as a small amount will be still in your system for longer, and lots of people get no tough symptoms at all then.

Marie xx

Quote Originally Posted by heidi123 View Post
    Hi
    Ive been taking venlaflaxine for 12 months for ocd/anxiety along with bupropion for motivation. I have been tapering off venlaflaxine for 6 months no problem but am now down to the last 37.5 mg. I stopped taking it 3 days ago and have felt overwhelming dizzy and weird and have rushes all over. I feel a bit sick as well. Has anyone else experienced this and if so how long does it last
    thanks
    How quickly were you tapering the venlafaxine? The general rule of thumb is to reduce by 10% of your current dosage every 4 weeks. It takes a long time to get to zero. There is a wealth of information here.

http://survivingantidepressants.org/...r-venlafaxine/