Thread: Help I feel like I am going crazy!

Help I feel like I am going crazy!

Hi all

This is my first time on here! Right I will be as brief as possible …….. I was 28st and had a gastric bypass and weigh now 16st. I have always suffered with bad anxiety but the day this incident happened I felt fine as was for once, quite content with the world. The night prior, I felt rough and my heart rate was apx 100 – 140 but I calmed down and slept all night. The day after I felt ok, but slightly on edge ( I have huge health anxiety) so as my therapist advised, in times like these keep busy, so I went shopping. I felt awful my heart was racing and legs were trembling and my neck felt really hot. I went to A&E and my pulse was 150bpm and very high bp. The nurse was lovely and everything just calmed down and I felt fine within 30mins, my bloods and 2 ecgs were normal. BUT the consultant said that I should go for a 24hr heart monitor – I am SO scared, I go tomorrow, He said it could be a panic attack, Champix I was taking or a problem, possibly with my heart. I have felt fine physically since my A&E visit that was 10 days ago. Few minor but I think that’s in my head. BUT mentally I feel like I am going crazy – I am so scared that I am going to get bad news or drop dead. I can’t sleep or do anything as I am scared I could collapse – I feel like I am going crazy HELP!! Could it be a panic attack even if I wasn’t stressed at the time?

Thanks

Sara

Re: Help I feel like I am going crazy!

Hi Sara,

First up, congrats on the weight loss. I imagine you're feeling a lot better about yourself and have more energy!

Based on what you describe I'm 99.99% certain your symptoms are anxiety, or more specifically a panic attack. If you calmed down once you were told there's nothing bad going on, it's a panic attack.