Thread: Palpitations getting severe

Palpitations getting severe

Hello. I'm new to the forum. As a quick introduction, I'm 22 years old, suffer from OCD and SAD, which I both battle with on therapy and my own time. I've also had palpitations for years, I think they started when I was around 14. Due to my (mostly dealt with) hypochondria, I know quite a lot about heart palpitations. I'm not an expert obviously, but I learned to live with them, and the anxiety they produce. More than a year ago however, they got worse. Instead of an occasional pounding, I developed a run of palpitations (3 to about 8 in a row). At first they terrified me, but I learned to cope with them too, more or less. I noticed most of them come from stress and stomach (I have GERD, and experience a lot of palps after certain foods or overeating). Then one week ago, I experienced a massive amount of them - I was bending over with a full stomach (this pressure is causing the palpitations too, mainly after eating) and I don't know exactly how many of them, but much more than usual. With that came the burping and heartburn. After several burps it passed. It scared me, but I managed the fear quite quickly. My main reason for writing here though, is because of what happened yesterday night. So, I ate two hot-dogs at 7 PM with lots of ketchup and some other sauce (yeah, I know...), which was making my stomach go more or less crazy for many hours after that. With this came palpitations, but it was "the usual stuff". Then at 2 AM I got over-excited watching a movie - I felt a big pound. Then two normal beats and another pound. One beat and a pound. Then two or three normal beats and again a pound, etc. It was palpitations galore, it just wouldn't stop. And these thumps were much stronger than usual too. I remember calming down, saying to myself "ok, it will pass now, just stay calm". It always helped, but not this time. I was calm and it still wouldn't stop. I started forcefully burping (seeing as it hel