Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Feeling so low and don't know what to try next

Unhappy Feeling so low and don't know what to try next

Hi all,

I really could do with some help.

I have been posting on here for many years on and off regarding my depression and fatigue issues.

At the start of the year I met a lovely girl through an online dating site - I didn't intend or expect a relationship to come of it, just a bit of fun but we soon clicked and everything was going well (apart from the fact that I've been out of work for a few years with my fatigue and mental health issues but she would obviously have known this from the off)

Then in March, a month and a half after we met, I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. She has been my rock through it, and I wouldn't have been able to deal with it as well as I have without her by my side. I had my thyroid and the cancerous tumours removed from the left side of my neck in April, the day after my 30th birthday and had radioactive iodine treatment in August. However, at the start of this month, I have been told there is more cancer, this time on the right hand side. I have also found a new lump on the left hand side which has made me incredibly anxious.

Through all this, like I say, she has been my rock, but a few months back we kind of went though an almost break-up because she couldn't handle the fact that I didn't work/earn money. Then it happened again about a month later and she said if I wanted to continue to be with her then I'd have to get counselling for my depression and fatigue, because she can't handle my negativity and glass half empty attitude. She also said I would have to get back into some voluntary work.