Thread: First long haul flight and flight alone

First long haul flight and flight alone

Hi,
    I am a student and I am 19 years old and recently my partner has been deported back to Hong Kong. I will not see him until September and I am unable to visit him over the summer due to available time and also because i am not very good in very hot weather.
    I am therefore hoping to visit in the easter holidays (21st-31st March) but i am currently physically unable to purchase my flight tickets due to anxiety.
    I am really anxious about the idea of an aprox 13 hour flight, flying on my own (as both will be my first time - a long haul and alone) and the thought of being ill when i'm there.
    I am really good at flying and have had no problem with flying in the past, other than some mild anxious thoughts and feelings that are to be expected.

I think the main thing contributing to my anxiety is that my mum really doesn't want me to go, since she worries about me a lot (which i can understand) but in an attempt to prevent me from going she has told me anything to put me off, e.g. that i have anxiety and shouldn't go, i'm not mature/street-wise enough, i won't be safe, i have been ill abroad before etc. and so this has increased my anxiety and made me feel that if my mum (who surely knows me best) doesn't think i should go, then maybe i shouldnt??

I have spoke to my disability advisor at university who knows me well and she has encouraged me to go and believes i am mature enough and that it could be really good for my anxiety and an amazing experience, and as I am really hoping to travel a lot in life, i know i need to start somewhere and i cannot let my anxiety rule my life.

But of course i am still anxious so i was just wondering what others thought or about their experiences?

Re: First long haul flight and flight alone