Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ibs/colon cancer fear

Ibs/colon cancer fear

I'm quite new to this whole health anxiety thing but have always been a very anxious person. Last year my uncle died of cancer and it seems to have triggered fear in me everytime something goes wrong. In October I started getting a fast heart rate which I was sent to hospital for and diagnosed with tachycardia, still haven't got a reason for this condition.
    A few months ago I started having problems with my bowels, I was very constipated and put on a lot of laxatives and started getting pains on my right hand side, my bowels have been all over the place since but I seem to be able to go every day now without any laxative use. My stools went narrow which panicked me but have now become bigger again. What worries me is that they are always sticky... The dr says its IBS and I have had blood tests and no anemia or anything. I become so stressed worrying that it was ovarian cancer because of the pain and bloating that I was given a scan and it was clear, I then turned to worrying about colon cancer, the Drs look at me like I'm crazy when I tell them I'm scared of colon cancer as I have only just turned 23. My stools aren't black or very dark just a normal brown but I'm still worried about them being so sticky and sometimes mucusy... I'm also very gassy, but the Drs say this is all just Ibs and I just wish I could believe them and stop worrying :(. I have seen SO many Drs and none have shown any concern over my bowels at all, more over my anxiety. Surely if this was something bad ONE of them would have picked it up? I have been put on Antidepressants because I worked myself up so much over this and got myself in such a state.has anyone else been through this and know how I can stop driving myself and my partner so crazy...

Re: Ibs/colon cancer fear