Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why does dp give you strange thoughts

Why does dp give you strange thoughts

why does this happen with dp? like things are not real how am I real and freaking out that the human body is made up! does anyone else have these thoughts? what causes them.

Re: Why does dp give you strange thoughts

Anxiety causes these thoughts. I couldn't tell you the exact cause of it all, though, as I'm no medical professional, but I reckon it's got something to do with brain chemistry. I used to get the same thoughts, especially when my anxiety first started and I had no idea what was happening to me and how to help myself.
    Therapy and medication, as well as time, worked their magic, and I am now in a much, much better place.

I keep getting thoughts like how can I see out my eyes how I don't feel real and how do I know how to walk talk etc has anyone else ever had this? I don't know how things can again feel real after this?

If you're not real, how are you typing on this thread?

Josh - while that's a nice principle, when you feel unreal through derealization, everything feels unreal. This thread, the computer, the room, yourself, your life. Doing and being don't really help ground your thoughts in that way. I can do complex mathematics, balance a ball on my head or even drive a car and still feel like none of it is real!

Quote Originally Posted by Karaboudjan View Post
    Josh - while that's a nice principle, when you feel unreal through derealization, everything feels unreal. This thread, the computer, the room, yourself, your life. Doing and being don't really help ground your thoughts in that way. I can do complex mathematics, balance a ball on my head or even drive a car and still feel like none of it is real!
    Yes, but the fact that I can read this, proves that you are real.

And I know very well what it feels like; I have recovered from it. Please refrain from making absolutist statements about it. It impedes the recovery of others.