Thread: paul mckenna

paul mckenna

hi,i was wondering if anyone here had bought the book 'instant confidence' byt paul mckenna.It comes with a cd to listen to containing some relaxation stuff and suggestions.I took it back to the shop the other day as i didnt like the way he spoke on the cd.His voice seemed really sinister,and there were bits where you could hear him saying several things at once,which is confusing and scary to listen to.The book wasnt too bad,although as i am not good at doing visualisations,i found the exercises difficult.Has anyone else read this book and listened to the cd? or to any other of his books etc.I have come to the realisation that looking to external ways to help me,ie books,cd,other people is not the answer for me to help me to recover from my past experiences and asociated problems.So i wont be wasting any more of my money on these so called 'self-help' cures.From my experience they all say pretty much the same thing and cost money which i dont have.Since joining a yoga class last year,i have got a lot out of the exercise,and the spiritual aspects of it.However,when it came to the relaxation at the end,i always had a panic attack.I spoke to my teacher recently about this as she was thinking that maybe the yoga wasnt good for me and that i shouldnt go to class for a bit,which made me panic.Then i spoke to her again and we decided that if i wanted to,i could carry on,but that i would seek counselling etc to support me also.I went to class yesterday and when we did the relaxation part,i lay down and did it,no panic! If that doesnt explain how much panic tricks the mind i dont know what does! i think half the time i would get anxious just before the relaxation part,anticipating and attack,so thats what i got! now i just go in there and concentrate on what i am supposed to be doing,ie relaxing,and it works! i am now also convinced that i used to play the 'victim' or 'sufferer' game,by telling people i had this and that wrong,is the pani