Thread: Help! Low oxygen sats!

Help! Low oxygen sats!

Been at A&E all day today witb video evidence that I am struggling to breath - an oxygej reader showing my numbers for saturation dunking below 90% frequently. They've sent me home and I still can't breath. Please tell me anxiety can affect oxygen saturation!!!!! I can barely walk.

Re: Help! Low oxygen sats!

Sorry need to bump this one as a matter of urgency.

I'm a nurse. Sats of 90% aren't too much to worry about, most people saturate at 94 - 96%
    Take some deep breaths while you've got a sats probe on and they'll increase. Anxiety and panic will affect your breathing, which will affect your saturation levels. Stop panicking, the hospital aren't worried so you have no reason to x

Quote Originally Posted by Suziewuzie View Post
    I'm a nurse. Sats of 90% aren't too much to worry about, most people saturate at 94 - 96%
    Take some deep breaths while you've got a sats probe on and they'll increase. Anxiety and panic will affect your breathing, which will affect your saturation levels. Stop panicking, the hospital aren't worried so you have no reason to x

Thank you, although I read anxiety is supposed to raise sats through hyperventilating; the opposite happens to me-! Also the warmer I am the more likely my sats will go below 90%. If I do somehow manage to take a good deep breath it only takes a few seconds for sats to start dropping again :(

Stop looking at your sats buddy. It's clearly making you panic. It's really not important what your sats are! As long as you're breathing then your sats are nothing to worry about.

Hi Suziewuzie and GreatGateway, my 83 year old Mum has just been in hospital with low oxygen and they say that lack of movement can make this worse. Would you agree? My Mum just sits around all day hardly moving at all. I just wondered whether a walk may help GreatGateway? Doesn't it pump more oxygen in to the blood cells? x

Quote Originally Posted by Carnation View Post