Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Holiday Anxiety

Holiday Anxiety

HI everyone, I'm new to this. Last year I developed severe generalised anxiety when my husband went to work away from home. I went to a therapist and got put on Propranolol, diazepam and Sertraline. I was terrified of going on holiday incase i felt like that all holiday. Anyway long story short, I got over it after about 4 months and have been fine for a year and only stayed on the Sertraline (SSRI)

Then just last week my anxiety all came back. Ive had a lot going on at work but I think its mainly cos I am once again going on Holiday in 3 weeks and I have got into a right panic about it. My worst symptoms are a gagging/chocking feeling which stops me eating and general feeling of fear. I am scared that I wont be able to eat on holiday or relax and enjoy it. I am back on propranolol and a higher dose of Sertraline. Is this normal for anxiety to come back after a year and will I be ok on holiday?

Re: Holiday Anxiety

I'm in the same boat as you but I'm going Saturday and don't think I can cope ��

oh dear, its not nice. Is it just about holiday time urs comes on?

No but gets worse during holiday tunes

Hi , the anticipation of somthing coming up is usually much worse than the actual event , have you had bad experiences on holiday ? If not try and remember good holidays you've had before concentrate on the positive times you've had , more than Likley you will worry for nothing the first day will take a bit of settling in then you will have a nice time by the end you probably won't want to come home , I know us anxiety sufferus just think worst case scenario all the time and it not usually that way , hope you go you have a great time and think what the hell was I worrying about , ps I'm on Holliday it's not all been bad and today has been pretty good , take care .