Thread: Just Started Having Panic Attacks

Just Started Having Panic Attacks

Hello. This is my first time talking about my fears. I turned 30 earlier this year and before this year I never had a panic attack. I have always had a lot of anxiety, but took it to be a nervous nelly. Now I realize I have a problem. My first panic attack happened over something I thought was really stupid. A character on one of my favorite TV shows died. I literally panicked so much that I threw up and it felt like I couldn't breath. Today I had my second panic attack. I had a dream about moving out of my mom's house and woke up in full panic mode. I felt on fire, was shaking crazy, and thought I was going to throw up. The thought of moving out has never worried me this much before. I need some advice on what to do when a panic attack strikes.

Thank you.

Re: Just Started Having Panic Attacks

When you feel panicky don't fear escalation. Don't feel at the mercy of it. Your like the driver driving the car. You're not the car, you're the driver. Observe your body and keep your mind calm. You're the driver, you're in control, you're not worried.

Your body thinks it is in danger so is just firing off adrenalin. Tell yourself, show yourself that there's no reason to do that and that everything is ok.

You panicked about the actor idea. Show yourself a future where you cope and are happy without this actor. Make that future look acceptable and enjoyable and watch that adrenalin activation shut off again.

The same with the idea of moving out.

Panic can just become a habit.

Idea - oh no - will I feel panic - look for panic - yes there it is.

Then you just do it over and over like all roads/ideas lead to panic. No, all roads and ideas lead to solutions, navigating to solutions, reassurance, deactivating that need for adrenalin.

Become good at calming yourself down.