Thread: Field Vision Test/Spot on Optic nerve

Field Vision Test/Spot on Optic nerve

Hello,
    I'm a 28 year old female with a completely negative health history other than bad nearsightedness. I have never had any other health issues or diagnoses and have never been placed on meds for anything. I don't have high blood pressure or glaucoma or diabetes or anything that would put me at risk for optic nerve issues. I'm fit and I eat right and exercise and am at a healthy weight. I'm also a registered nurse.
    I had my annual eye exam last Thursday. It had been a couple years since I had it. The optometrist dilated my eyes and looked into them and initially said everything looked great. Then she asked if I had ever been told I have a "strange shaped" right optic nerve. I said no. She then asked if I'd ever had a traumatic injury to my right eye and I said no. She took me to another room and took pictures of my right eye and showed me a "spot" on the optic nerve. She said she'd never seen anything like it before and said I could have had an injury I was unaware of or I could have just been born with a weird looking optic nerve. Then she casually mentioned it could, in rare cases, be a tumor. Then she continued on talking like she hadn't scared the pants off of me. She cheerily sent me on my way to the front desk to make an appt for Monday for a field vision test. She said based on those results she'd refer me to an opthamologist or not. Naturally, I'm terrified and have been freaking out all weekend about this. Like I said, I'm a nurse and I'm a level headed, reasonable person but when she said "tumor" I freaked out. This led to Google searches which was an absolutely terrible idea. I'm just trying to hang in here until my appt tomorrow to get further info. Has anyone ever had to take a field vision test? Has anyone ever had issues with their optic nerves? I'm trying to stay calm but this is truly freaking me out quite badly.