Thread: Trusting doctors

Trusting doctors

So...I figured the anxiety bird would land on breast cancer eventually. My aunt died at my age from it, so that is always on my mind.
    A few weeks ago my doc did a regular check, lingered a bit on one side, but said they felt the same on both sides, nothing to worry about, just have dense tissue. I've heard that before.

But I have done some checks, and found myself obsessing. Trying to head this off. THE DOC WOULD HAVE DETECTED SOMETHING. I feel nothing there but my regular weird boob tissue. I'm thinking, it was a different doc maybe she isn't as good? Please remind me that doctors can be trusted and if I haven't found anything, and doc didn't, then there isn't anything there. Jeez.

Re: Trusting doctors

Doctors are always examining breasts. Makes me wonder why I studied politics...

But seriously, any doctor worth their salt knows the difference between a healthy breast and one with any potential problems. If a doctor tells you something is fine, that is all you need to know. As I've said to others, if you don't accept what the doctor says, where do you go?

I think political science/philosophy is wayyyy more interesting than boobs, but that's just me.

But I agree that at some point, I have to trust them. I am REALLY trying to logic this one out and keep my hands off because it just makes me crazy. Literally. It just makes me so mad that I haven't struggled with health anxiety for YEARS and it's back, almost like riding a bike, I haven't forgotten how to work myself up. Just got over one fear...

I'm trying Zoloft as recommended by doc but it is making me a bit more anxious (as anticipated) so I'm trying to keep that in mind.

Quote Originally Posted by Minivil View Post
    I think political science/philosophy is wayyyy more interesting than boobs, but that's just me. ....

I am REALLY trying to logic this one out and keep my hands off because it just makes me crazy.....