Thread: 20mg to 10mg - need help!

20mg to 10mg - need help!

Hello lovely People!

I'm a newbie to this forum so apologies if I'm repeating a topic (I found some old threads like this but wanted to start a new thread so hope that's OK!)

I have been on citalopram for over a year and it's been AMAZING! My husband called it a "transformation". I am reducing my dosage, possibly with a view to stopping altogether, though not sure yet. My doctor said that as I'm only on 20mg I could drop straight down to 10 rather than tapering and it shouldn't include any side effects. However... four days in I'm feeling headachy, tired and a bit queasy (nothing too bad). I found going on them a bit tough, though not terrible. He was insistent that 20-10 shouldn't be too big a drop, but I'm worried it might be. Am I just being paranoid? Importantly, I emotionally feel absolutely fine, though I know it's early days.

Thank you and have an awesome day!

Re: 20mg to 10mg - need help!

Hi and welcome. I started on 10mg went to 20 then halved tabs and went 25mg and then 30mg.. the doc wanted me to straight in at 40 bit I was terrified of side affects so I splits tabs myself. She wasn't happy but if felt right for me. I don't know enough about side affects of withdrawal etc but I guess doc may know best. Others on here may comment and have more experience. Keep on doing well. Nice to here success stories. Xx

Thanks for your reply - my real name is Polly For me, immediately halving a dosage, even if it's small to start with, feels a bit much... It's making me worry...

My headaches are now pretty bad and I am SO TIRED! I'm also having some pretty trippy, negative dreams. Can anyone tell me if this is temporary, and if so when can I expect it to go? Feel like I'm failing...

Here's what the professionals say:

http://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/healthadvic...pressants.aspx

DURING
    Reduce slowly
    Research suggests: