Thread: Perfect life or is it

Perfect life or is it

Hi,

Newbie here and not sure if this is the right place for some advice. I come from a culture where MH or depression is a taboo subject. Now I'm a 30 year old with no significant history of MH. I have a good job and good home life but recently i have just been feeling so down.

This started almost 2 weeks ago where i would start feeling tense and worried with lots of nervous energy. Now i habe to contantly hide and mask my problems which causes further issues. The feeling of being worried and not enjoying sometimes make me want to press the self destruct button and do things I've never done before like go for a walk at 3am!!

I've thought about going to the doctors but have a problem with discussing this with anyone hence putting on here where I'm protected by the world wide web.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Re: Perfect life or is it

If you're coming from a culture where MH is off limits, then you will find it hard to discuss. If it's any consolation a lot of people find it difficult to broach with their GP for fear of being labelled. It is a big step for you, but the most important one is recognising that you don't feel right, and that there's a problem.

So..how about printing off what you've written here, going to doc, and saying "can
    I show you this? It's something I find hard to talk about". Do you think that might make it easier for you if the doc knows how you feel?

PS. Your visit to your doc is confidential, you should be able to discuss anything freely x