Thread: Driving anxiety

Talking Driving anxiety

Hi

This is my first time on No More Panic. I am hoping to share ideas and get tips from other suffers like me. Most of my adult life I have suffered from driving anxiety to the point where it becomes a chore rather than something enjoyable. I am so afraid of being lost and do not like unfamiliar routes and always end up going places using routes which are familiar to me. This is not always possible and when I am in unfamiliar routes, I panic and makes mistakes. Does anyone else have this problem and can give me some tips.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Driving anxiety

Hi

This is just a courtesy reply to let you know that your post was moved from its original place to a sub-forum that is more relevant to your problem.

This is nothing personal - it just enables us to keep posts about the same problems in the relevant forums so other members with any experience with the issues can find them more easily.

Regards

Elen Admin

ps moved to GAD

It's similar for me, but it's motorway driving I absolutely avoid. I also try to avoid it even as a passenger. Like you I prefer to use familiar routes but I think that can be said about alot of people, driving can be stressful even for the calmest person. I'm a good driver though so it doesn't take that away from me, it's just the thought of being caught up in a situation on a route Ive never driven before, so wouldn't know how busy it gets etc. Saying that though, I have found myself in that situation and coped with it. I think with us anxies we think too far ahead to what might happen, when it usually works out ok.

ISB
    Last edited by Catherine S; 05-01-17 at 21:01.

Thanks I will keep trying.

Quote Originally Posted by Determination View Post
    Hi