Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Internet-induced health anxiety - Cyberchondria?

Internet-induced health anxiety - Cyberchondria?

Hello all!

For years, I've struggled with health anxiety, whether it has been chest pains giving me heart attack fears, headaches giving me brain tumor fears, or tingling extremities producing fears of a serious neurological condition. Every time I noticed a symptom, I'd search it online. Often, this searching ended up escalating my anxiety, as I'd always be prompted with webpages suggesting I had some kind of serious condition.

As a college student, I partnered up with some health professionals and spent the last few weeks researching this kind of internet-induced health anxiety (cyberchondria). Along with writing a paper on the topic, I've started to create a website in hopes of helping other people who deal with internet-induced health anxiety. The link to this website is on my profile page - I'd love suggestions or comments about it from people who have dealt with this condition in the past.

Has anybody else found that their internet searches have fueled their health anxiety? If so, do you want to share your experience?
    Last edited by cyberchondriaguy; 27-01-17 at 06:22. Reason: changing location of website

Re: Internet-induced health anxiety - Cyberchondria?

Yes. It has been the primary fuel for my health anxiety.
    I've always been somewhat of an anxious person, but the internet has kicked it up several magnitudes of severity.
    I dare say I wouldn't be suffering from health anxiety right now if i hadnt gone down the google rabbit hole.

I'll check out your site.

Off-loading the blame onto something else in my opinion.

I think nearly every one of us in this subforum have got ourself into a state over Googling symptoms. But too many times I read people on here saying "Google told me I had cancer", "I wish Google didn't exist", "I blame Google", etc.